Student Services » Special Education Qualification Criteria

Special Education Qualification Criteria

Los Gatos Union School District (LGUSD) provides support to all students with disabilities. As professional educators, whether our role is in general education, special education, or administration, we believe it is our collective responsibility to support special education students to meet the District standards. We understand the essential role parents and guardians have in student educational progress and are committed to fostering effective parent/school collaboration toward the best interests of students.

Special Education is specialized instruction provided for children from birth through age 21 who qualify according to the laws and regulations outlined by the state and federal government.

A student may qualify for special education services after an assessment has been conducted in accordance with Federal guidelines, has been found to have a disability, and who because of those impairments needs special education and related services in order to derive educational benefit from the curriculum. The following are the 13 Federal categories for special education eligibility:
  • Autism
  • Deaf-Blindness
  • Deafness
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairment
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech or Language Impairment
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment
A full array of placement options exist to provide a continuum of services, based on the student’s identified needs.